Beamishish

I think my first exposure to homebrewing as we know it today is the fantastic blog and YouTube series ‘Chop and Brew’, it is ‘Beamishish‘  from this series that we draw todays inspriation.  The protagonist in the Beamishish story is also one of my favorite beer bloggers – Michael Dawson who you can find on The Beer Engine Blog.  He regales the story of Beamish as a drop enjoyed while studying abroad.  I myself have no innate relationship to this experience, I just like stout….

The weather is starting to advise us that stout season is arriving, a few cold southerlies have required a lit fire and I feed a frost in the next week or two will kill my hop bines.  Moreover, I’ve got my annual trip to go duck hunting in a month or so, this should certainly go down a treat in the evenings after a days hunting.

Like most recipes on this blog, I’ve adapted the grist to match what I can source locally from Gladfields Malt and subbed out the European hops for a single high AA% charge of Pacific Jade.

IMG_1406

20L      OG:1.046      IBU:31

3.2 kg Pale Malt

400 gms Light Chocolate Malt

300 gms White Wheat Malt

300 gms Dark Crystal Malt

20 gms Pacific Jade @ 60′

Mash rest @ 65C for 90′, double batch sparge of 77C

Fermenting at 18C with SO4

IMG_1410

P.S You cant brew a stout without a ‘Hot Scotchie’

IMG_1416

Leave a comment